Content Encoding Error (content_encoding_error)

Looks like a series of problems I am facing after I transferred my site from one server to another. This morning I am getting the following error the first time I try to login onto my SMF forum:

“Server response could not be decoded using encoding type returned by server.

This is typically caused by a Web Site presenting a content encoding header of one type, and then encoding the data differently.”

I have a clue from here. Basically it says that it is related to a bug in the content compression code.

Based on this concept, I turned off content compression from “Admin > Configuration > Server Settings > Feature Configuration”. I checked off “Enabled Compressed Output” option and it works!

10 thoughts on “Content Encoding Error (content_encoding_error)

  1. Hi, roadtofifty and Ahmed thanks for sharing that the posting really helped you. I am glad because that is the sole purpose of this site.

  2. You should set

    $conf[‘compress_pages’] = false;

    in webmail/horde/config/conf.php. This resolved our issue.

    Here is the path:

    “C:\Inetpub\vhosts\webmail\horde\config\conf.php”

  3. Thanks!

    It helped me as well.
    My hosting server has changed the configurations and my site come up with the same error. I turned off “Enabled Compressed Output” and now it work fine. But I do not know how the SMF performance change when turn that function off.

    Cheers!

  4. I am not really good with computers, so can some tell me where I go to get to Admin>Configuration??????? I don’t have a clue. I am not sure where I am supposed to enter the path C:\Inetpub\vhosts\webmail\horde\config\conf.php, Please help.

    Thanks

  5. This problem occurs if use a Text Editor which supports another Character Encoding which has not been defined in your website’s either language/languagename.php or other page wherever you have defined Character Encoding type. To overcome this problem you just need to write your code that support the character encoding type. eg earlier I was using Dreamweaver, later I used Microsoft Expression Web the problem start occuring. I just replaced the file written in Dreamweaver, the problem was solved..

Leave a comment